Cup Half Empty Or Half Full – Starbucks Layoffs

Starbucks released a statement yesterday that it will cut 6,700 jobs and close 300 stores. This comes on the heels of the 600 store closings announced last July. Starbucks may not stop at 900 stores either.

“I’m hoping 300 stores is enough, and that they’ve done what they need to do,” said Patty Edwards, a retail analyst with Storehouse Partners in Seattle. “Slow drip, even in coffee, isn’t necessarily the best thing. Sometimes you just need to get the pain over with.”

I guess $5 bucks for an ok latte is too much.

4 Responses

  1. In the meantime we have Tim Hortons stores popping up every corner where I live. Their coffee is cheaper, although I don’t like it very much.

  2. In the meantime we have Tim Hortons stores popping up every corner where I live. Their coffee is cheaper, although I don’t like it very much.

  3. Tim Hortons is the worst. Even Dunkin Doughnuts coffee is better depending on what time of day you go.

    Personally I like the local shops we have here around Portland. Not that local is always better, in this case it is. If you live in the Portland area you’ve got to go to Arabica. There’s my two cents.

  4. Tim Hortons is the worst. Even Dunkin Doughnuts coffee is better depending on what time of day you go.

    Personally I like the local shops we have here around Portland. Not that local is always better, in this case it is. If you live in the Portland area you’ve got to go to Arabica. There’s my two cents.

Leave a Reply

